NFSU demo PROBLEM!

2003 Need for Speed Underground

NFSU demo PROBLEM!

Postby NeoBlade » 09 Nov 2003, 00:03

Hey all first time visit to this forum!
I'll get right to the case....
I myself love streetracing and the adrenaline, so personally looked forward to this game, so i downloaded demo and installed it.
When i try to run the game it goes into black screen (like it usually does in that split second before entering any game) and then returns to Windows, and nothing more happens, I can't even get in the game or anything???
I have WinXP Pro SP1 english with directx 9.0b installed and a GF4 ti4400 with detonator 52.16_win2kxp_english_whql

Hope someone have a solution to this problem..... I would be gratefull..... thx

-Sean
NeoBlade
Ricer
Ricer
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 08 Nov 2003, 23:54

Postby Bojan » 09 Nov 2003, 11:09

Maybe you downloaded the corrupted version... But that should give you problems with installation so... You have a very similar system to mine so it should work.

If you have broadband try downloading from another mirror.
Image
User avatar
Bojan
NFSUnlimited Staff
NFSUnlimited Staff
 
Posts: 5174
Joined: 11 Sep 2002, 21:35
Location: Slovenia

Well....

Postby NeoBlade » 09 Nov 2003, 11:46

I've tried to download the demo from 2 different locations, and it was with different filenames....
One with nfsudemo_release.exe
Other with filename ending with australia.exe

I don't get it, what do u need apart from directx 9.0b?
NeoBlade
Ricer
Ricer
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 08 Nov 2003, 23:54

Postby Rapid|NL|Angel » 10 Nov 2003, 12:51

With a black screen it is usually your Graphics Card that`s the problem.

Try different drivers, i know you have the newest detonator but maybe an older one will solve it.

Don`t forget when you install other drivers first uninstall the old one!!
Rapid|NL|Angel
Ricer
Ricer
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 10 Nov 2003, 11:53
Location: Netherlands

Postby Nitro » 10 Nov 2003, 15:47

I don't have the game, but since you have XP try changing the compatibility option(lets say to win98 or ME)....Find the executable file and right click on it and then choose "properties".Go to the tab "compatibility" and click "run prog in compatibility mode" for win98...Hope it helps :P
User avatar
Nitro
Turbo Charged
Turbo Charged
 
Posts: 210
Joined: 05 Jul 2003, 15:00
Location: Somewhere In Time

Re: NFSU demo PROBLEM!

Postby Flaffy » 10 Nov 2003, 22:58

NeoBlade wrote:Hey all first time visit to this forum!
When i try to run the game it goes into black screen (like it usually does in that split second before entering any game) and then returns to Windows, and nothing more happens, I can't even get in the game or anything???


I have the EXACT same problem, and I even have a completely different system, which kinda rules out graphic-card problem!!
My specs are:
P4 2.533GHz
512Mb Samsung DDR2700
Radeon 9500Pro 128Mb
Catalyst 3.7

I have also tried with Catalyst 3.9(newest) with the exact same result.
I start the game, and the screen goes blank for a sec, then returns to desktop :x

Tried to run DrWatson in background, but it catched NO errors!
Flaffy
Ricer
Ricer
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 10 Nov 2003, 22:53
Location: Denmark

Postby Bojan » 11 Nov 2003, 14:02

This should do the trick:

Go to Control Panel->Regional and Language Options. Change your language (in the first drop-down list) to English (Australian)
Image
User avatar
Bojan
NFSUnlimited Staff
NFSUnlimited Staff
 
Posts: 5174
Joined: 11 Sep 2002, 21:35
Location: Slovenia

Postby Flaffy » 11 Nov 2003, 17:05

bobyx wrote:This should do the trick:

Go to Control Panel->Regional and Language Options. Change your language (in the first drop-down list) to English (Australian)


I'm baffled,, it actually works :-)
Thnx a lot for the advice
Flaffy
Ricer
Ricer
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 10 Nov 2003, 22:53
Location: Denmark

Re: NFSU demo PROBLEM!

Postby Rapid|NL|Angel » 11 Nov 2003, 23:16

I have the EXACT same problem, and I even have a completely different system, which kinda rules out graphic-card problem!!
My specs are:
P4 2.533GHz
512Mb Samsung DDR2700
Radeon 9500Pro 128Mb
Catalyst 3.7

I have also tried with Catalyst 3.9(newest) with the exact same result.
I start the game, and the screen goes blank for a sec, then returns to desktop :x

Tried to run DrWatson in background, but it catched NO errors!


OFF TOPIC: Hey Flaffy, did you now you can softmod your 9500Pro to a 9800PRo with the Omega Drivers? Your 3DMark2003 score will rise to 5000-5500 :D :D

Just a tip :wink:
Rapid|NL|Angel
Ricer
Ricer
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 10 Nov 2003, 11:53
Location: Netherlands

Re: NFSU demo PROBLEM!

Postby Flaffy » 11 Nov 2003, 23:34

[quote="Rapid|NL|Angel


OFF TOPIC: Hey Flaffy, did you now you can softmod your 9500Pro to a 9800PRo with the Omega Drivers? Your 3DMark2003 score will rise to 5000-5500 :D :D

Just a tip :wink:[/quote]

Nope didn't know that,, I'll check it out :wink:

BTW(and to keep it on-topic) I tried the demo, the drag part is a lot harder, than drag-racing in other games,, I like it :-)
In circuit race though I think the handling sucks,, Im more into the Porsche Unleashed sim-ish physics, where U get a better feel with the car


Yours sincerly
Flaffy
Flaffy
Ricer
Ricer
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 10 Nov 2003, 22:53
Location: Denmark

OMG... thanks man!

Postby NeoBlade » 13 Nov 2003, 23:29

I'd just like to say thanks to bobyx !!!
It worked what u said..... I would never have guessed that could be the problem.....
So thanks again m8
NeoBlade
Ricer
Ricer
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 08 Nov 2003, 23:54

NFS Underground Demo

Postby greatchap » 14 Nov 2003, 18:56

I downloaded demo of NFS Underground and tried to run it but it shows a black screen and quits.
I tried changing language settings to English (Australian) as mentioned but still it didnt work.

Any help?

I m running Win98 SE & P4 2.4 GHZ & Geforce 4 Ti 4200.

Thanks,
greatchap
Ricer
Ricer
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 14 Nov 2003, 18:34

Postby clubbed-deth » 16 Nov 2003, 20:16

i have a different problem. I first had the problem of the black screen coming then the game closing but I fixed that by updating my video card. Now, the game works, but the textures are extremely bad, the words are all boxes, and the mouse cursor is a box. I believe it is becuz of my video card... NVIDIA RIVA TNT2 Model 64/Model 64 Pro

btw i also have my direct x at latest version so its not that
clubbed-deth
Stock
Stock
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 16 Nov 2003, 20:01

Postby SuperRacer » 16 Nov 2003, 21:27

Your video card is very old. I had the same one and stopped using it 3 years ago ;)
Try changing the resolution and color depth in options. You'll have to change it every time you start the demo because it doesn't save the settings.
What version of Windows do you have?
User avatar
SuperRacer
NFSUnlimited Staff
NFSUnlimited Staff
 
Posts: 1125
Joined: 11 Sep 2002, 21:50
Location: USA

Postby streetracer212 » 16 Nov 2003, 22:43

when i start up the demo it says it has performed an illegal operation I am running windows 98 and a Matrox millenium G200 AGP
streetracer212
Stock
Stock
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 16 Nov 2003, 18:51

Postby clubbed-deth » 17 Nov 2003, 03:33

i have Windows ME
clubbed-deth
Stock
Stock
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 16 Nov 2003, 20:01

Postby streetracer212 » 17 Nov 2003, 09:07

Now I uninstalled the game and it won't let me install it again it just comes up with the egg timer for a few second and then nothing HELP ME![/b][/b] :cry: :cry: :evil: :x :( :cry:
streetracer212
Stock
Stock
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 16 Nov 2003, 18:51

Postby Flaffy » 17 Nov 2003, 12:39

streetracer212 wrote:when i start up the demo it says it has performed an illegal operation I am running windows 98 and a Matrox millenium G200 AGP


U too have a very old graphic card. I do not believe it is supported by the game. My only suggestion, would be to go buy a better graphic card. They come very cheap for a decent card nowadays. Fx. Nividia FX5200 - 5600 are actually quite cheap, with a ok performance.
Flaffy
Ricer
Ricer
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 10 Nov 2003, 22:53
Location: Denmark

Anyone can help

Postby greatchap » 17 Nov 2003, 19:16

As posted earlier i have

P4 & NVIDIA GEFORCE 4 TI 4200 Graphics Card (128MB VIDEO RAM) and 512 MB RAM.

Win98 SE

Why isnt the demo runniniig on my pc & what can i do to solve the problem ?

Any one got solution ???????
greatchap
Ricer
Ricer
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 14 Nov 2003, 18:34

Re: Anyone can help

Postby Flaffy » 18 Nov 2003, 00:15

greatchap wrote:As posted earlier i have

P4 & NVIDIA GEFORCE 4 TI 4200 Graphics Card (128MB VIDEO RAM) and 512 MB RAM.

Win98 SE

Why isnt the demo runniniig on my pc & what can i do to solve the problem ?

Any one got solution ???????


Just a wild guess(I have no idea if this works) but try English[UK] instead! Have U tried changing the graphics driver??
If it still fails, open start-menu then Run and write drwatson. Windows then starts a little debugging tool that catches program errors. With Drwatson running in background, start NFSU demo. Maybe drwatson will give some usefull information on the error,, but then again maybe not! :roll:

Give it a try!
Flaffy
Ricer
Ricer
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 10 Nov 2003, 22:53
Location: Denmark

Postby Koffy » 18 Nov 2003, 01:50

Get the Detonator drivers from http://www.nvidia.com
User avatar
Koffy
Professional
Professional
 
Posts: 1127
Joined: 03 Feb 2003, 00:20
Location: Argentina

Postby Kodan » 18 Nov 2003, 17:38

It all worked for me (bar the font) until I got into the actual race, where i would get a blank screen. I fixed it by changing the screen res to 800x600 from 640x480. I have a Radeon 9700 with 3.8 drivers
Kodan
Stock
Stock
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 18 Nov 2003, 17:35

Postby streetracer212 » 18 Nov 2003, 17:42

I do have a diamond viper v550, would it be worth trying that or is it too old
streetracer212
Stock
Stock
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 16 Nov 2003, 18:51

Postby Koffy » 19 Nov 2003, 01:12

Tecniacally it should work (32mb).
User avatar
Koffy
Professional
Professional
 
Posts: 1127
Joined: 03 Feb 2003, 00:20
Location: Argentina


Return to Underground

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests