[NFS4] Running on WinXP/Win2k

Ask and answer questions about Need for Speed.
Be sure to search first!

[NFS4] Running on WinXP/Win2k

Postby Thug Soul » 03 Oct 2002, 22:08

How to run Nfs 4 under WinXp? :cry:
User avatar
Thug Soul
Ricer
Ricer
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 15 Sep 2002, 21:01

Postby Bojan » 04 Oct 2002, 13:10

All you have to do is to install the 4.5 patch, which you can get here.

Run the game in compatibility* mode and it should work!

If that doesn't work, use the Win2k NFS4 patch which you can find here. Use it, then, if needed, try the compatibility mode.

There are often problems with NFS4 or 5, don't remember which, maybe both, when you have 256MB RAM or more. Try this: right-click on My Computer, Properties, Advanced, Performance Settings, Advanced. Then click Change at the bottom. Change the page file size to 192MB.

* To run the game in compatibility mode, right click on the NFS4 icon on your desktop or in your start menu and in the Compatibility tab select win95 or win98/me mode.

(Post edited by SuperRacer)
Image
User avatar
Bojan
NFSUnlimited Staff
NFSUnlimited Staff
 
Posts: 5174
Joined: 11 Sep 2002, 21:35
Location: Slovenia

Thanx

Postby Thug Soul » 07 Oct 2002, 15:28

Thanx a lot man... I'll try it! :P
User avatar
Thug Soul
Ricer
Ricer
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 15 Sep 2002, 21:01

Postby SuperRacer » 19 Oct 2002, 00:42

I added some stuff to bobyx's post.
User avatar
SuperRacer
NFSUnlimited Staff
NFSUnlimited Staff
 
Posts: 1125
Joined: 11 Sep 2002, 21:50
Location: USA

NFS HS and Win XP

Postby pbarnum1 » 08 Dec 2002, 00:55

I've followed your previous suggestions and have finally gotten High Stakes updated and running in Win98 compatability mode. But the performance is horrible. I reduced my page size to 192 but it didn't help. Anyone have any other suggestions?

Help!

Thanks,

Patrick
pbarnum1
 

This ain't doin'

Postby Thug Soul » 15 Dec 2002, 23:02

Noup... not workin... I have 2 OS and i didn't install it on XP is this a problem?

:arrow: Thug Soul
:arrow: Thug Soul Tuning
User avatar
Thug Soul
Ricer
Ricer
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 15 Sep 2002, 21:01

Postby esskay » 16 Jan 2003, 23:24

I run windows xp, have had it on for about a year now, and I never got good performance out of NFS4. I patched it, ran it in compatibility mode and everything. Normally, the first lap of any given track was smooth as butter, but each subsequent lap got choppier and choppier.

You could imagine how horrible the framerate was by the eigth lap of a race. I never found a true fix, other than playing it in Win98.

If I do find a real solution, I'll post it.

esskay
SK Design
esskay
Ricer
Ricer
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 16 Jan 2003, 23:20

Thanx

Postby Thug Soul » 20 Jan 2003, 10:35

Thanx for replay.

:arrow: Thug Soul
:arrow: Thug Soul Tuning
User avatar
Thug Soul
Ricer
Ricer
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 15 Sep 2002, 21:01

Re: NFS 4 under WinXP/Win2k

Postby HaMMeR » 20 Mar 2003, 03:53

Great SiTE!!

Thug Soul wrote:How to run Nfs 4 under WinXp? :cry:


Hey PeoPLE :D

I am trying to run HighStakes and XP as well I realise this is a old post.....

I wanted to do Screenshots for a Ford and Chev thread on a forum so I tried to get NFS up, some new cars, etc.......

COOL!

Total Patch3 amongst many other things.......

Nothing worked.......


hehehehe :roll:

I gave up and re tried 10 nights....LOL carefully listening....

NoTHing worked.....

I had the 1MB space thing...... and black screen back to desktop?

Then I tried software Mode.....heh this is BeTTeR

still no 3D tried all patches, 2000one, gfx ones.........

I am silly :roll: .........about about NVidia Driver silly!!

Tried 30.82 NVidias Sweet!, I still have 1MB window ? NO worries though;)

As I do not have problem above fsaa max res etc nice and fast!

So try ditching Det4 if you have a NVidia proBlem.....I wanted NFS for videos and screens mainly....then I simply swap to Det4's for everything Else :D
HaMMeR
Stock
Stock
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 20 Mar 2003, 03:41
Location: Sydney, AUSTRALIA

Postby Rogue » 28 Mar 2003, 05:40

Thanks HaMMeR, I'm sure your post will be able to help many. By the way, welcome to the forums.
Rogue
Drift King
Drift King
 
Posts: 348
Joined: 29 Jan 2003, 06:01
Location: Australia

How do i install nfs4 in xp?

Postby ChrisHemi » 08 Apr 2003, 04:37

How do i install nfs4 in xp?, as soon as i try and install it i get an error "This game only runs under windows 95 or 98.", wont install full stop

anyone know?
ChrisHemi
 

Postby {NS}Marko{CRO} » 24 Jul 2003, 01:52

Hello everyone !!

Nice forum :))

Well i have NFS 4 on Win98 SE, but my friend install NFS 4 on XP and the game works because i found setting witch works with any problems on his comp.

I use a combination of 3dsetup & SpotPatch and my friend is having 65fps constantly like myself.

If anyone needs help just e-mail me ::>marko.horvat@os.htnet.hr<::

and visit ::>www.nemesiss-hr.cjb.net<::
{NS}Marko{CRO}
 

Postby Guest » 07 Aug 2003, 21:27

i have windows xp and nfs runs great, the only problem i had was my re writer drive didnt run it cause it was names e but it works in my dvd drive named d :lol:
Guest
 

Hard Drive Less Than 1 MB free space?

Postby Guest » 25 Sep 2003, 20:27

I've had NFS HS for about 1 year and up until the recent Windows XP problems, I've had no problems with HS. After installing the new XP updates, I had problems running HS. After following the advice in some of the other posts in this topic, I've been able to get HS running again, except for when starting up the game, I get the message "Your hard drive has less than 1MB free space.". I have a 120GB hard drive with over 100 GB free. Now the game will not save which tracks that I have completed in single race mode - such as completing a track in Time Trap.

I've already installed the 4.5 patch and the frame rate patch.

Thank you in advance for any help that can be given!!
Guest
 

Postby Rogue » 23 Nov 2003, 15:04

Have you tried taking your save data file out and doinga complete uninstall and reinstalling the game to see if it resolves ya problem???
Rogue
Drift King
Drift King
 
Posts: 348
Joined: 29 Jan 2003, 06:01
Location: Australia

Postby archangel72582 » 12 Feb 2004, 23:05

I have the same message "only works in windows 95 or 98" and I'm running windows 2K. How do I get NFS4 to install?
archangel72582
Stock
Stock
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 12 Feb 2004, 22:43

Postby DJ_Unibob » 17 Feb 2004, 00:09

I installed on Xp, and the game runs fine, though with my graphics card, I have to run software renderer, or the game will not run...I have a GeForce FX 5200
DJ_Unibob
Stock
Stock
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 26 May 2003, 00:02

nfs 4 problems

Postby subzero_sv » 23 Feb 2004, 20:25

i'm not speak english but i try to help you.

visit:
http://members.fortunecity.com/nfssv

then go to the left and select nfs4 --> parches/patches -->

for the problem:
"less than 1 mb" download nfs4 jmg 1mb patch.

for the problem:
"i have nvidia or ati XXXXXX graphics card and the game launch me to the desktop..." download nfs4 jmg graphics update.

sorry by me poor english. bye
subzero_sv
Stock
Stock
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 23 Feb 2004, 20:18

Postby Racerzrealm » 09 May 2004, 03:45

I don't know what kind of error this is, but it says that AMF=16 platform.c(347) How can i avoid coded errors such as this?
Racerzrealm
Ricer
Ricer
 
Posts: 32
Joined: 26 Oct 2003, 21:50
Location: Laurel, MD

Postby SuperRacer » 09 May 2004, 04:12

When do you get the error?
User avatar
SuperRacer
NFSUnlimited Staff
NFSUnlimited Staff
 
Posts: 1125
Joined: 11 Sep 2002, 21:50
Location: USA

Postby M_S » 09 May 2004, 04:52

Racerzrealm - do you think you could recize that sig please??
User avatar
M_S
Professional
Professional
 
Posts: 1579
Joined: 15 Mar 2004, 08:21
Location: Australia

Postby Skyfrog » 18 Aug 2004, 00:04

Well here is how I get the game working properly on my TNT2 Ultra and Radeon 8500. This should work for any other unrecognized cards, and it also applies to the game Need For Speed III.

First of all, forget about running 3Dsetup; it won't recognize the card and you don't need it for this anyway. In your main game directory:

1) Delete the file voodoo2a.dll (or rename it)
2) Rename the file d3da.dll to voodoo2a.dll
3) Run Regedit and navigate to the following key:
HKLM/Software/Electronic Arts/Need For Speed High Stakes
4) Double click "Thrash Driver" in the right pane and enter voodoo2

Now close Regedit and run the game. You should have full Direct3D support with all resolutions available as well as triple buffering. Be sure that you DO NOT run 3Dsetup after this because it will undo your changes in the registry. If the game is solid gray when you run it turn off fog in the options menu. Some cards like my Radeon 8500 don't work properly with that feature. If you have an updated d3da.dll you like to use, just rename it voodoo2a.dll insted of the original. If this does not work for you just rename your files back to their original names and run 3dsetup to select your rendering mode. I hope this helps some people out. :)
Skyfrog
Stock
Stock
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 17 Aug 2004, 23:42
Location: USA

Postby alexutzu2002 » 29 Sep 2004, 19:44

I have a problem , i can't install the nfs hs 45patch!
i get the following message:
"NOT ENOUGH DISK SPACE ON TARGET DRIVE WHILE ATTEMPTING TO COPY FILES

TO CONTINUE, FIRST FREE DISK SPACE ON THE TARGET DRIVE AND THE CLICK OK"

the only thing is I have about 50 gigs free space, i've clicked on continue and it displays the same thing!
I CAN NOT INSTALL IT !
HEEEEEEEEEEEELLLP PLS
alexutzu2002
Stock
Stock
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 29 Sep 2004, 19:30

NFS 4 Cataclism

Postby BluEyes » 12 Nov 2004, 11:50

I got HS working on my XP pro, with the 'install walkthrough' I got from <i>another</i> forum, but the game is very <b>very</b> unstable. You never know when it is going to crash, and the real P.I.T.A. is that it freezes my comp and I have to reboot! This tends to happen when the best races of carrer mode should begin to 'load', or when any race is getting real breath-clutching action. But, seriously, I never know when it is going to freeze, and I don't even know why it freezes. If anyone is getting this kind of 'freezing' errors in HS, please tell me, cause I'd like to find a solution to this.
Pablo.
BluEyes
Stock
Stock
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 01 Nov 2004, 15:00
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

I got the fix!

Postby Metallic Blade » 14 Jul 2005, 22:34

On tis site, I found a patch that lets the wizzard open on Win XP! 8)
Metallic Blade
Ricer
Ricer
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 14 Jul 2005, 17:59
Location: Sec-ret

Next

Return to Help & Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest