A newbie here who just got a copy...

2010 Need for Speed Hot Pursuit
Rossriders
Stock
Stock

A newbie here who just got a copy...

Post by Rossriders »

But I've yet to open it. I've been unsure if I should have gotten this or not for the PC (not that I have the option for a PS3 or 360 anyway), but it was on sale and it's the limited edition, I may keep it regardless but I'm just curious to how others have delt with it on the PC.

I'm aware that for the most part, excluding 3 additional cars there isn't going to be DLC for the PC until otherwise (I may not care for it anyway unless it's free), and then there's possible autolog issues and whatnot.

But I guess the simple question is given my current computer specs (a laptop with an AMD Athlon II P320 dual core processor at 2.10 Ghz, 3.00 memory Ram running on the 64bit version of Windows 7), and since a demo isn't an option, I'm wondering if I should even bother even if I had a more powerful computer or if I could return this and get my money back.

I'm just curious to what anyone else thinks.

And that's about it for now, until later.
vellu
Valued Member
Valued Member

Re: A newbie here who just got a copy...

Post by vellu »

The CPU and RAM are ok, but what you/we really need to know is the graphics capability of the laptop. It pretty much needs to be discreet in order to run the game properly (or even, at all). Any idea what that might be? If unsure, post the exact make and model of the laptop.
Rossriders
Stock
Stock

Post by Rossriders »

It's a compaq Prescario CQ62-225NR notebook, as for the games, it varies.

Far Cry - No real issues even on higher settings
Race Driver GRID - mid to higher settings typically bring the game to a standstill, so I go for low to medium settings in general for a better framerate during gameplay.
GTA III - No real issues
GTA SA - some slowdown in some regions, and I've had a few crashes.