Page 1 of 1

Flatout: UC Fps problems

PostPosted: 09 Apr 2011, 23:28
by YaelDjiel
I hope someone has this game and can give me some solution..

my pc specs are as follows:
Q8200 quad core @2.33ghz
4gb ram
geforce GTX260
win7 x64

and this game runs, no matter the settings (even at 640x480 all low..) like a friggin slideshow.
FO2 worked perfect at absolute max settings.
Shift1 works at 60fps with max settings and even Shift2 runs fine with high settings.

wtf is wrong with this xbox ported (sigh..) game??

tried google, no solutions found so far.

Re: Flatout: UC Fps problems

PostPosted: 30 Apr 2011, 07:10
by Kaerar
Don't bother with UC, it ruined the physx of FO2 anyway, plus it ruined online play with forcing GFWL. The new cars are nothing special though the gfx upgrade was nice. Problem is the handling is not as good for some reason. But hey.

As for fixing it, I haven't run it in a LOOOONNNNG time. I only keep FO2 around for the rare time I find someone else who plays it, though my skills are all rusty now :(

Re: Flatout: UC Fps problems

PostPosted: 30 Apr 2011, 10:21
by boganbusman
Just an idea... it's a long shot, but maybe the game doesn't like multicore CPUs?

I remember trying to play Rainbow Six 3 a while ago (2004 game) and it would also run like a slideshow.
Disabling all CPU cores except for one fixes the problem.

Maybe worth a try with Flatout??

Re: Flatout: UC Fps problems

PostPosted: 30 Apr 2011, 17:44
by YaelDjiel
Hmm good call, I'll get back on that :)
Thanks for some replies, finally :P

EDIT: wow, I can't believe I didn't think of this before.
It now works with great fps at absolute max settings, using 2 cores.
Great tip!

Re: Flatout: UC Fps problems

PostPosted: 01 May 2011, 03:06
by boganbusman
Cool, glad to hear that it worked!

Re: Flatout: UC Fps problems

PostPosted: 01 May 2011, 04:39
by YaelDjiel
Seems it doesn't like Quad Cores, no problems with Dual.
Thanks again for the excellent tip :)

Can't believe this is a whole new game though, it's like FO2.1 lol