Post your system specs!

Everything for your PC, from case modding to OS discussions, come here to discuss computer hardware and software.

Re: Post your system specs!

Postby vellu » 23 Jul 2008, 00:29

New rig has arrived... A couple of days of configuration work ahead, atleast.
Attachments
desktop.jpg
All the specs I could squeeze into a single screen.
Image
User avatar
vellu
Valued Member
Valued Member
 
Posts: 1733
Joined: 04 Nov 2004, 23:20
Location: Finland

Re: Post your system specs!

Postby baumaxx1 » 06 Aug 2008, 12:34

Due to motherboard faliure... Godzilla has been rebuilt to... Godzilla V2!

Before:
17" BenQ LCD
Average Age: 3 Years
-Pentium 4 Northwood 3.2Ghz with HT
-2GB DDR 400 RAM (Crept up eventually)
-Palit 7600GT 256mb AGP8x (Replaced Original FX5600)
-Gigabyte mobo
-Winfast XP2000 Alanog TV/FM Tuner
- " DTV1000 Digital TV tuner
-Liteon 20x DVD Burner (Replaced old, buggered 8x)
-HDDS in 80GB Master for system and smaller programs, 320GB Second Master for games (Added recently), and media, 160GB 1mb cache for temp stuff/backup.
-450W PSU (Original one gave up after 1 yr)
-Simple Classy ATX Case... black and silver with colour coded parts.

Smooth gameplay settings (Tested on new config too):
Oblivion: High 1280x960
FEAR: Max CPU, High GFX 1280x960
Prostreet: CPU was suckage
Crysis: 1024x760 Low, high sound, med textures, objects and physics.
Juiced 2: 1FPS on min.
Counter Strike Source: High

After catastrophic hardware faliure:
17" BenQ LCD
Average Age: 1.5 Years
-Pentium Dual Core E2180
-2GB DDR 800 RAM
-Leadtek 8600GT 512mb
-Gigabyte mobo (With HD audio... so much better than old onboard!)
-Winfast XP2000 Alanog TV/FM Tuner (From before)
- " DTV1000 Digital TV tuner (from Before)
-Liteon 20x DVD Burner (New... SATA as to keep my IDE HDDS... as I would have had an 80GB only... :? )
-HDDS in 80GB Master for system and smaller programs, 320GB Slave for games, and media, 160GB 1mb cache for temp stuff/backup in external powered case. (From before)
-450W PSU (From Before)
-Simple Classy ATX Case... black and silver with colour coded everything. (From before)

Smooth gameplay settings (Tested on new config):
Oblivion: Maxxed with exterior shadows only on med 1280x1024
FEAR: Max
Prostreet: Max
Crysis: 1182x864 High except med shaders, particles and water.
Juiced 2: Smooth FPS on Med, but... freezes every 10 secs no matter what... the game is buggered... POS.
Counter Strike Source: Max

Cost: $350 in parts... cost of 7600GT before that had a similar leap in performance a while back: $270 Lol.
Image
User avatar
baumaxx1
Professional
Professional
 
Posts: 2163
Joined: 14 Dec 2004, 09:26
Location: Adelaide, Australia mate!

Re: Post your system specs!

Postby peterfaj » 07 Aug 2008, 20:45

that 1GHz PC with a nvidia riva tnt2 vga card is my oldest PC. Then I have this oldish PC with the following specs:
-2.8GHz AMD Athlon 64 3000+
-nVidia GeForce 6600GT
-1,5GB ram
-40GB discspace (~37GiB) (from that old one)
-<550W power supply (lc power always specifies unstable wattages which are the highest possible and cannot be maintained)

And finally ... the rig I just built (I ordered it 3 weeks ago. Was waiting 2 weeks for the parts and it took me another week to check what's wrong and to order and replace that damn dud ram :evil:)
The specs:
-3GHz each core AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+
-Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 4850
-2GB ram (Corsair, 800MHz, 4-4-4-12 latency)
-160GB + 750GB (that's ~149GiB + ~698,5GiB) discspace
-750W corsair power supply (I could go with lower, but components are more and more power hungry.)
Last edited by peterfaj on 10 Aug 2008, 21:20, edited 1 time in total.
peterfaj
Drift King
Drift King
 
Posts: 526
Joined: 01 Apr 2006, 19:34

Re: Post your system specs!

Postby baumaxx1 » 08 Aug 2008, 08:08

Here's my first quick 3D mark... may do one in clean boot so I can try and do a bit better than works in my class >_<.

http://service.futuremark.com/home.acti ... 6B701DC535

Just had my PC rebuilt after a failed Mobo... and I was incredibly happy with it's results, running Crysis with all on high, but shaders shadows, particles and water at 1152x846 or whatever that res is, Prostreet was max, as was Oblivion and CS:S... and it was great... until I ran 3D mark. How do I gets more marks?
Image
User avatar
baumaxx1
Professional
Professional
 
Posts: 2163
Joined: 14 Dec 2004, 09:26
Location: Adelaide, Australia mate!

Re: Post your system specs!

Postby S2000_Skyline12 » 08 Aug 2008, 09:01

Getting better parts. Or overclocking. You shouldn't expect many marks out of a 8600GT, as it is not really a good gaming card overall for today's standards of gaming. And that link doesn't work.
*sig removed for being too big. max size 550x120px & 50kb*
User avatar
S2000_Skyline12
Unbeatable
Unbeatable
 
Posts: 3538
Joined: 05 Jan 2005, 23:59
Location: Long Island, New York Birthday:12.23.92

Re: Post your system specs!

Postby baumaxx1 » 08 Aug 2008, 09:29

S2000_Skyline12 wrote:Getting better parts. Or overclocking. You shouldn't expect many marks out of a 8600GT, as it is not really a good gaming card overall for today's standards of gaming. And that link doesn't work.


3985 was the score. But it plays the games I have well. Not sure what's more demanding than Crysis on high?
Image
User avatar
baumaxx1
Professional
Professional
 
Posts: 2163
Joined: 14 Dec 2004, 09:26
Location: Adelaide, Australia mate!

Re: Post your system specs!

Postby S2000_Skyline12 » 08 Aug 2008, 17:46

What I call running means something above 20-30 fps, cause the gameplay isn't all that great. And 3985 is the score expected from your system, you would need something like a Qxxx or Exxx processor to get higher numbers along with a 88/96/GTX2xx/GX2/4850-70 or higher/equivilant to get 10k+ scores.
*sig removed for being too big. max size 550x120px & 50kb*
User avatar
S2000_Skyline12
Unbeatable
Unbeatable
 
Posts: 3538
Joined: 05 Jan 2005, 23:59
Location: Long Island, New York Birthday:12.23.92

Re: Post your system specs!

Postby PSZeTa » 08 Aug 2008, 18:24

Which 3DMark?

Anyways, 06 really liked to increase the score a lot if you had a powerful CPU, while you wouldn't really notice much ingame. Scores kinda became hard to compare (2 identical cards, one appeared to be significantly faster while it really wasn't), not sure whether it has improved in Vantage.
Image
User avatar
PSZeTa
Unbeatable
Unbeatable
 
Posts: 4123
Joined: 07 Feb 2004, 19:26
Location: 30-12-1900

Re: Post your system specs!

Postby baumaxx1 » 09 Aug 2008, 04:28

What I call running means something above 20-30 fps, cause the gameplay isn't all that great. And 3985 is the score expected from your system, you would need something like a Qxxx or Exxx processor to get higher numbers along with a 88/96/GTX2xx/GX2/4850-70 or higher/equivilant to get 10k+ scores.

Crysis is 40+ FPS.
That score's about right then? I just got a bit concerned seeing it being so low compared to similar systems, but they probably have a better CPU. I wasn't aiming for 10000k + scores... hell this is fine with me... On par with the PS3, well, better with Crysis... and it was just to get it working as a backup for a few moths until I get a new PC end of year... I want this in my room though, as it's got TV. :D

PSZeTa wrote:Which 3DMark?

Anyways, 06 really liked to increase the score a lot if you had a powerful CPU, while you wouldn't really notice much ingame. Scores kinda became hard to compare (2 identical cards, one appeared to be significantly faster while it really wasn't), not sure whether it has improved in Vantage.


3D mark 06... the CPU tests were quite dismal, as I'm only running an E2180. So with that CPU... it's about right then. I don't really get what the problem is though... it keeps up with the rest of the gear, and every game on my PC apart from Juiced 2... which is bugged on a friend's E6800 + 9800GX2 system.
Image
User avatar
baumaxx1
Professional
Professional
 
Posts: 2163
Joined: 14 Dec 2004, 09:26
Location: Adelaide, Australia mate!

Re: Post your system specs!

Postby S2000_Skyline12 » 10 Aug 2008, 20:02

PhantomX2

Intel Core 2 Duo E4600 @ 2.55GHz
Corsair 2GB XMS2 DDR2 800
MSI 9600GT Dual Slot
Asus P5N-E SLi

I like it. And yay. I can now run GRiD 1280/Ultra/2xMSAA (haven't tried anything higher) and get 60+fps.
*sig removed for being too big. max size 550x120px & 50kb*
User avatar
S2000_Skyline12
Unbeatable
Unbeatable
 
Posts: 3538
Joined: 05 Jan 2005, 23:59
Location: Long Island, New York Birthday:12.23.92

Re: Post your system specs!

Postby The Gravedigger » 18 Aug 2008, 16:20

Meh, I mock those small fries from a mcchicken burger meal.

Case: Thermaltake Xaser VI alluminium
Cooling: Thermaltake Bigwater 760i
Motherboard: EVGA 780i SLI
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 @ 3.9GHz running about 35-40'C idle to load I think, never really cared.
PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 750W
RAM: Corsair TWIN2X2048-6400C4 2GB kit 920MHz <<< upgrading to Corsair 1066 XMS2 Dominator TWIN2X4096-8500C5DF soon though
HDD: Seagate 320GB 7200rpm 16MB cache + very soon a Seagate 500GB 7200rpm 32MB cache
Audio: Creative Soundblaster X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro
Headphones: Razer Barracuda HP-1
Speakers: Logitech Z5500D
DVD: ASUS DRW-2014L1T 20x SATA x2
Mouse: Logitech G5 possibly getting Razer Lacheis
Keyboard: Logitech G15 (v2, the orange/smaller sized one)
Network: D-Link RangeBooster N 650, pissed off since how my mother board is set up is that a pci-ex1 lane is blocked by video card otherwise it'd be the Xtreme N sitting there instead
Monitor/s: Samsung 226BW and Samsung LA32R81BDX

Left the best part til last, owned for 6 days now
Video card: Sapphire 4870X2

So yeah.... PSZeTa long time no see o//
Image
User avatar
The Gravedigger
Professional
Professional
 
Posts: 1668
Joined: 10 Sep 2005, 12:35
Location: Gold Coast, Australia

Re: Post your system specs!

Postby S2000_Skyline12 » 19 Aug 2008, 01:18

Well exxxcuse me! lol

Hey, you pay more to do the same thing I can at a lower price =P and It may be your cpu or whatever, but I get a lower idle @ 3.0GHz on a stock cooler from 31C->39 load :D

But nice system, not like you have a QX or E8500 @ 4.0+ GHz to say you have large fries either. =P
*sig removed for being too big. max size 550x120px & 50kb*
User avatar
S2000_Skyline12
Unbeatable
Unbeatable
 
Posts: 3538
Joined: 05 Jan 2005, 23:59
Location: Long Island, New York Birthday:12.23.92

Re: Post your system specs!

Postby Carcrazy » 20 Aug 2008, 02:15

Now that I need to be working on my car, I see little point in updating to those specs lol.

I'll just wait until Christmas for a new GFX card or something. :lol:
Image
User avatar
Carcrazy
Unbeatable
Unbeatable
 
Posts: 4082
Joined: 28 May 2006, 05:08
Location: /// .Happy in Exile. \\\

Re: Post your system specs!

Postby baumaxx1 » 20 Aug 2008, 07:23

Meh, I mock those small fries from a mcchicken burger meal.


Uhh, ok... mine exploded... I got it back on the road as cheaply as possible so I can get a newer one sooner for myself.
Image
User avatar
baumaxx1
Professional
Professional
 
Posts: 2163
Joined: 14 Dec 2004, 09:26
Location: Adelaide, Australia mate!

Re: Post your system specs!

Postby The Gravedigger » 20 Aug 2008, 10:05

baumaxx1 wrote:Uhh, ok... mine exploded... I got it back on the road as cheaply as possible so I can get a newer one sooner for myself.


Was referring to s2k's post actually :)
Image
User avatar
The Gravedigger
Professional
Professional
 
Posts: 1668
Joined: 10 Sep 2005, 12:35
Location: Gold Coast, Australia

Re: Post your system specs!

Postby baumaxx1 » 20 Aug 2008, 10:15

The Gravedigger wrote:
baumaxx1 wrote:Uhh, ok... mine exploded... I got it back on the road as cheaply as possible so I can get a newer one sooner for myself.


Was referring to s2k's post actually :)


Ok. How much was your soundcard BTW? And what benefits does it have?
Image
User avatar
baumaxx1
Professional
Professional
 
Posts: 2163
Joined: 14 Dec 2004, 09:26
Location: Adelaide, Australia mate!

Re: Post your system specs!

Postby The Gravedigger » 20 Aug 2008, 12:52

baumaxx1 wrote:Ok. How much was your soundcard BTW? And what benefits does it have?


$163.70 from itsdirect, you can get the non fatal1ty for $125.95, same stuff just less wanna-be.
Image
User avatar
The Gravedigger
Professional
Professional
 
Posts: 1668
Joined: 10 Sep 2005, 12:35
Location: Gold Coast, Australia

Re: Post your system specs!

Postby baumaxx1 » 20 Aug 2008, 13:13

Yeah, there's one question... Realtek HD audio runs Crysis on max sound... why get a soundcard. I know there's 24/96 audio, but only album I can get is NIN The Slip. Second, how big is the benifit, I run Sennheiser HD515s and they sound great on HD Realtek (onboard).
Image
User avatar
baumaxx1
Professional
Professional
 
Posts: 2163
Joined: 14 Dec 2004, 09:26
Location: Adelaide, Australia mate!

Re: Post your system specs!

Postby Pabl0z » 20 Aug 2008, 13:51

I have an even better model of that Fatal1ty soundcard :P.
It did cost a pretty penny two years ago.
Dunno what it costs now but it was a new model back then and cost a bit over 200€.

http://images.europe.creative.com/iss/i ... _FCS_b.jpg

The name of the product has changed in two years from "Pro" to "Champion"-series, but I think it's exactly the same thing :D.
I pretty much got the card for the front panel thingie, so I have the option to hook different things up to my pc if I feel like it.
Also with the remote control I can control winamp for instance.
lol wut
User avatar
Pabl0z
NFSUnlimited Staff
NFSUnlimited Staff
 
Posts: 4100
Joined: 06 Nov 2004, 06:15
Location: Finland

Re: Post your system specs!

Postby baumaxx1 » 20 Aug 2008, 14:25

Ohh, cool.
Image
User avatar
baumaxx1
Professional
Professional
 
Posts: 2163
Joined: 14 Dec 2004, 09:26
Location: Adelaide, Australia mate!

Re: Post your system specs!

Postby 2furio » 20 Aug 2008, 20:33

I finally bought a new laptop which will also (sort of) replace my aging "gaming" PC.

Specs:

Sony Vaio FW (VGNFW140D)
- Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor P8400 2.26GHz
- 3GB SDRAM
- 250GB HDD @ 5400rpm
- ATI Mobility Radeonâ„¢ HD3470 256MB
User avatar
2furio
Valued Member
Valued Member
 
Posts: 2589
Joined: 04 Jun 2004, 19:41
Location: Romania

Re: Post your system specs!

Postby Carcrazy » 21 Aug 2008, 02:37

Sweet specs... we just bought the AMD version of my laptop for a family friend. (He recently got cancer, but should hopefully recover...) *knock on wood* :?
Image
User avatar
Carcrazy
Unbeatable
Unbeatable
 
Posts: 4082
Joined: 28 May 2006, 05:08
Location: /// .Happy in Exile. \\\

Re: Post your system specs!

Postby boganbusman » 21 Aug 2008, 10:37

Time for a spec list update :arrow:

AMD Athlon64 X2 4600+
Gigabyte GA-M55plus-S3G/2.1
3GB A-DATA DDR2 800 RAM (512MB x2 + 1GB x2)
Powercolor HD4870 PCS+ 512MB
520GB HDD (Seagate SATAII 320GB x1 + 160GB x1, Maxtor IDE 40GB x1)
Asus Lightscribe DVD-RW
CoolerMaster eXtreme Power Duo 650W
Thermaltake Soprano case
-----
Logitech MX400 mouse
Logitech Internet 350 k/b
Samsung 953BW 19" 2ms widescreen LCD
Altec Lansing MX5021 2.1 speakers

I have no idea what should be upgraded next, but this will last me a while anyway.
User avatar
boganbusman
Unbeatable
Unbeatable
 
Posts: 5142
Joined: 03 Sep 2004, 12:09
Location: Mute City

Re: Post your system specs!

Postby The Gravedigger » 21 Aug 2008, 11:56

boganbuslady wrote:I have no idea what should be upgraded next, but this will last me a while anyway.

This.....
boganbusman wrote:Logitech MX400 mouse
Logitech Internet 350 k/b
Samsung 953BW 19" 2ms widescreen LCD
Altec Lansing MX5021 2.1 speakers


Want suggestions?
Image
User avatar
The Gravedigger
Professional
Professional
 
Posts: 1668
Joined: 10 Sep 2005, 12:35
Location: Gold Coast, Australia

Re: Post your system specs!

Postby baumaxx1 » 21 Aug 2008, 12:28

Oh god...
I have a 17" BenQ monitor => ( (but looking at at least a 22", maybe a 24" for next PC)
Some random, Generic Microsoft optical mouse and standard keyboard.
Hallmark 2.1 speakers (not that I use them much as I have my Sennheisers)
Image
User avatar
baumaxx1
Professional
Professional
 
Posts: 2163
Joined: 14 Dec 2004, 09:26
Location: Adelaide, Australia mate!

PreviousNext

Return to The Hardware & Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest