Installing Pre XP Need For Speed Games

Need for Speed Hot Pursuit 2, Need for Speed Porsche, Need for Speed High Stakes and older

Installing Pre XP Need For Speed Games

Postby BASGTA » 13 Jun 2007, 00:07

I know there are a few guides on how to install NFS Hot Pursuit, High Stakes etc on a computer with XP, but those only tell you how you get the game running.

My problem is, when I insert High Stakes into the CD drive, and I open the Setup, an error pops up saying something like "This game if for Windows 95 and 98 only"

So now I ask, is there anyway to get past this message while still running XP, without running on a dual boot system.
User avatar
BASGTA
Turbo Charged
Turbo Charged
 
Posts: 74
Joined: 26 May 2006, 02:13

Postby YaelDjiel » 13 Jun 2007, 00:44

hmm never had this with high stakes but you could try setting compatibility mode? (maybe after copying all the files from the cd to your hdd?)
Image
User avatar
YaelDjiel
NFSUnlimited Staff
NFSUnlimited Staff
 
Posts: 1829
Joined: 04 Oct 2005, 22:01
Location: Valthermond, NL

Postby xturbo » 13 Jun 2007, 02:48

What I've tried is this:
Open the CD
Get to the setup.exe and right-click it and select properties
Then select compatibility mode to win 98 OR 95
Run the setup again.

Xturbo.
Image
User avatar
xturbo
Professional
Professional
 
Posts: 2293
Joined: 24 Aug 2005, 19:42
Location: Chile

Postby BASGTA » 13 Jun 2007, 04:39

Doesn't that only work on batch files? Either way, I tried it and there is no compatibility tab. I've always tried it on the NFSHS.exe, Autorun.exe and the AR2.exe.
User avatar
BASGTA
Turbo Charged
Turbo Charged
 
Posts: 74
Joined: 26 May 2006, 02:13

Postby Cpt.Razkit » 13 Jun 2007, 06:50

xturbo wrote:What I've tried is this:
Open the CD
Get to the setup.exe and right-click it and select properties
Then select compatibility mode to win 98 OR 95
Run the setup again.

Xturbo.


this will work. I even tried it on vista, installing a windows 98 game and it worked.C&C RA
:wink:
Image
User avatar
Cpt.Razkit
Professional
Professional
 
Posts: 1746
Joined: 04 May 2005, 15:07
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

Postby Andre_online » 13 Jun 2007, 08:18

Hmm, I've been meaning to try High Stakes on my new Home Premium Windows Vista. I hope it'll work with this solution.. I tried installing it, but nothing appeared. :P
User avatar
Andre_online
Unbeatable
Unbeatable
 
Posts: 7730
Joined: 04 Jun 2004, 10:43
Location: Singapore (GMT+8)

Postby TURB9O » 14 Jun 2007, 11:39

xturbo wrote:What I've tried is this:
Open the CD
Get to the setup.exe and right-click it and select properties
Then select compatibility mode to win 98 OR 95
Run the setup again.

Xturbo.

xturbo way is working.
TURB9O
Ricer
Ricer
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 09 Apr 2007, 16:07
Location: IN MY ASS , REALLY (LOL)


Return to Older Need for Speed Games

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron