All out war: England Vs America - Who makes the better cars?

Discuss your favourite cars, racing or non-racing

American Or British??

British
76%
American
24%

Total votes: 17

Grez~Supra_RZ-S
Valued Member
Valued Member

All out war: England Vs America - Who makes the better cars?

Post by Grez~Supra_RZ-S »

Right, it was only a matter of time before this one was up. Ive found myself arguing with a lot of ignorant americans recently about so called 'muscle' cars. Ive always been led to believe that, stock against stock, you cant beat a 'good old' muscle car. well, this is wrong. ive been loking at stats recently for a 1970 Dodge challenger R/T. 0-60 5.5 seconds, 1/4 mile: 13.9 seconds, produces 425bhp and maxes out at 146mph. Now while ill admit this is fast for the time it was produced, its not fast enough to beat a stock supra turbo for example, despite what these people will argue. 1996 Mk4 Supra tt: 0-60 5seconds, 1/4 mile: 13.6 seconds, produces 326bhp.

And as for design, well, american cars have never been pretty, lets face it. the two pinnacles of american design have both infact been british. Firstly, the cobra. originally called the AC ace, later a bristol engine was put in to make it faster. caroll shelby (at the time just finished racing for ferrari) saw the ace, and decided to buy the patent, following this by putting a ford V8 lump under the bonnet. Secondly, the Ford GT40. At the time, ferrari were in a lot of financial trouble, and plans were going ahead for henry ford to buy the company, but the deal fell through. Henry ford was angry, and ordered his engineers to create something that would destroy ferrari at the le mans track. while ford created the engine, it was actually british engineers who designed and created the chassis and body shell. Even nowadays, America have never produced anything as beautiful as a TVR cerbera.